A Splendid Summer


England

A splendid summer shone:
skies so pure;
suns so radiant.

A band of Italian days had come
like a flock of glorious passenger birds
and lighted to rest on the cliffs.
The fields were green and shorn;
hedge and wood, full-leafed.

Weary with gathering wild strawberries,
I sought the garden.

It was now the sweetest hour
and the sun had gone down
in simple state –
pure of pomp of clouds –
spread solemn purple,
burning red jewel
and furnace flame
extending high and wide,
over half heaven.

A rising solitary star
soon would boast the moon
yet beneath the horizon.

Copyright © December 2012 Norma Martiri

Form: Erasure Poem

Taken from my favourite book Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre

4 responses to “A Splendid Summer

  1. Wow this flows so well, a great erasure poem…I just finished watching the movie Jane Eyre, I haven’t read it since I was a kid, this poem makes me want to revisit it… 🙂

    • Thanks. I love erasure poems which I’ve only just discovered. I might write another today 🙂 Jane Eyre is also one of my favourite books. I love Charlotte Bronte. Thanks for reading 🙂

Thank you for your comment

