The Journey


Image

The world belonged to him at night.
The moon was his lantern,
the stars his friends.
He was at home here.
He looked upon his kingdom.
Wayside fires were his altars,
smoke, incense to his gods.
He journeyed not knowing why.
He knew no reason for not journeying.
His vague imaginings swung along
until he saw the distant hill.

Copyright © November 2012 Norma Martiri

Form: Erasure Poem

Written for dVerse Poets Pub – Meeting the Bar: Erasure Poetry
Taken from Sundow Slim by Henry Hubert Knibbs

25 responses to “The Journey

  1. This is my favorite part:
    “His vague imaginings swung along
    until he saw the distant hill.”

  2. I am unfamiliar with your source but your resulting poem is strong and compelling. The authoritative voice of the narrator is very appealing. Thank you for joining us!

    • Thanks Anna, I really enjoyed playing with this prompt. You’ve introduced me to a new technique which I’m going to have fun with. I’ve linked the original text to my comments above. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. he knew no reason for not journeying…ha i like that….and i oft find my home in the night….very cool piece you were ablt to put together out of this…

  4. your poem is beautiful, and it was so wonderful you were able to see these words out of the original text. Your poem reminded me so much of Aurel Stein – an explorer – a book about whom I just completed reading and reviewed as well on my blog.

  5. This is spectacular, Norma. I really liked the whole thing, but these were my favorite lines:

    He journeyed not knowing why.
    He knew no reason for not journeying.

    • Thanks Victoria 🙂
      I just realised that I didn’t have a “home” button on the left hand side so I’ve added it. All my poems are now in chronological order so what you see on the home page are my latest poems. They are also listed chronologically under “Poetry” on the right hand side. I hope this makes sense and thanks for letting me know. Have a wonderful and happy Christmas 🙂

Thank you for your comment

