Silence – Five Sentence Fiction


This is my first attempt at Five Sentence Fiction. I’m in need of a challenge and I thought I’d give it a go.

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: SILENCE

Flickr Image by Danielle Devcich

When she comes, she is a welcomed visitor. An old friend accepted for all she has to offer a world where noise and clamour pollutes the delicate minds of earth’s inhabitants. She sits with me in delicious darkness and helps me sort out scattered thoughts as I carefully slot them into allotted compartments. White walls expand and a sense of calmness washes over me. I wish she would come more often.

14 responses to “Silence – Five Sentence Fiction

  1. She is quiet but very loud in what she does not say. Quiet often she argues not to demolish but to embellish. She is the perfect teacher, who teaches without words. She is the perfect taskmaster who reprimands quietly. She is my conscience.

Thank you for your comment

