The Wonder of Me


Narcissus by Caravaggio depicts Narcissus
gazing at his own reflection.

I am a wonder to the world,
Such beauty rarely seen.
And when I speak I do command
Attention for I’m keen
To tell you all about my ways,
How I am loved by all.
So pay attention everyone
My tale’s bound to enthral.

My grandiose ideas begin
And end inside my head.
My confidence erupts when you
Regard the words I’ve said.
But when the velvet curtain falls,
And no applause I hear.
Resentment will reveal itself,
My charm will disappear.

At times the world will realise
How ugly I can be.
For I judge imperfections and
I thrive on misery.
But then at once I’ll take the stage
Again the world will see.
How truly wonderful I am,
The wonder that is me.

Copyright © April 2012 Norma Martiri

10 responses to “The Wonder of Me

Thank you for your comment

