A Poet’s Pen


Written for Poet’s United The Thursday Think Tank # 82 – The Road

A poet’s pen will set you on,
Great journeys far and wide.
Across the globe and back again,
Their passages provide,
A window to a setting sun,
A sea of pirate ships,
A land filled with great mysteries,
The moon on an eclipse,
A sunlit forest brimming with
God’s creatures great and small,
Majestic castles standing grand,
Convictions to enthral.
As often as I read a poem,
I’m cast upon the way,
Of poets’ wild imaginings,
On varied roads each day.

Copyright © 2012 Norma Martiri

Welcome! This is my first poem for 2012 after a long and busy break. I hope there are many more to come 🙂

The pen became a clarion.
~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow



30 responses to “A Poet’s Pen

  1. The rhythm of this poem is like a rolling road. I felt like I was riding in an old-fashioned horse and carriage. A good way to start writing again.

  2. Welcome back to the world of words. I hope you enjoyed all of your travels but, nice to see you back here, complete with your pen. Bleated ‘Happy new year to you, too” 🙂

  3. A beautiful poem. I am intrigued by the meter of that first line followed by such regular use of meter — for me a little shift would be welcome somewhere later on — but still a elegantly and wonderfully written poem!

    • Thanks…I’m still not happy with the first two lines and will probably change it again. I’m not really sure what I’ve done there. I’m always open to suggestions and constructive criticism and appreciate it. Thanks for your lovely comment 🙂

Thank you for your comment

